OverviewThis article provides information on the deprecation of Stream, where Microsoft Teams videos are stored. Videos on Teams will now be saved to OneDrive or SharePoint.
Microsoft is no longer going to develop Stream Classic
Stream Classic is the current video storage solution where Microsoft Teams videos are saved. In August 2021, Microsoft began changing account configurations to push the recorded Teams videos to OneDrive and SharePoint, depending on the way the meeting was set up. Due to the timeline set by Microsoft, TTU will be going ahead and changing the account configurations to move to this new workflow to give everyone the same experience.
What will happen to Stream?
Stream Classic is being deprecated and will eventually be discontinued.
Can I still access my recordings that are on Stream?
You will be able to access the recordings stored in your Stream account until Microsoft begins migrating these videos to your OneDrive.
Where will my recordings go now?
The video recordings of Teams meetings will go to different locations depending on the way the meeting was set up. To clarify this, we are going to break it down by the different ways people normally create links or Teams:
Using a Meeting Link
If you create a meeting link through Outlook, Teams Calendar, or through the iLearn MS Teams Meeting Link option in the Existing Activities area, the recording will go to OneDrive in a Recordings folder. This folder will be created automatically when the first meeting is recorded.
- The recording goes to the person's account who clicked the Start Recording option in the meeting. This could potentially be anyone in the meeting.
- Through links created in Outlook or Teams, all people invited have the ability to select the Start Recording option for the meeting
- The meeting link will be posted in chat for all the people who participated to view. It will be stored in the person's account who pressed Start Recording
- See CITL's page for Updating Meeting Options for Teams Meetings
- See Microsoft's page for Playing and Sharing a Meeting Recording in Teams
- When using the Auto-Recording option, if you allow people to bypass the lobby, whoever enters the meeting first will start the recording and the video file will be stored in their OneDrive account.
- All meeting attendees will be able to access the video by default, except external users. Anyone who didn't attend the meeting will not have access. You will have to share the link with them (see Sharing Files from OneDrive)
- Editing videos through OneDrive is not available. You will have to open the file in a different program to edit. The closed captions and transcript will no longer be valid if the file is edited.
- The video recording files will be included in your OneDrive quota.
- As long as transcription is enabled on the meeting when recorded there will be closed captions. Currently, this is enabled when Recording is started.
- Closed captions will be available on these videos for 60 days, but if you move the video to a different location, they will no longer work from that point.
- The transcript of the video will be available beyond the 60 days and can be downloaded in the account of the person who created the recording. The transcript alone is not acceptable for a person who needs captioning, but is available.
- This option is not available for Meet Now meetings
Using a Team
If you create a Team through MS Teams or through the iLearn Teams widget, the recording will go to the SharePoint site for the Team. It will be stored under the Documents area in the channel folder, in a Recordings folder.
- All the people involved in the Team will be able to see the recordings whether they attend the meeting or not (see Accessing and Linking SharePoint folders to your local machine)
- Editing videos through SharePoint is not available. You would have to open the file in a different program to edit.
- The video recording files will be included in your SharePoint quota.
- The videos do not currently have any closed captioning or transcript options.
Using YuJa to share videos
We have a video platform that can be used to store and share videos. The software is called YuJa Media.
- You can upload your recordings to your YuJa account using a drag and drop method or Upload
- Closed captions will be processed automatically on all videos uploaded into the system
- Editing capabilities are available for the videos through YuJa
- You can organize your videos into folders for different courses or sections
- You can provide links to the videos through integration in iLearn
- You can provide a direct link to videos for external users